Leadership & Government

The Presbyterian form of government vests authority in laypersons elected by local congregations who are known as "ruling elders". Together with "teaching elders" who are the ordained ministers, they are responsible for the leadership and government of their particular church as well as the larger church. Ruling elders serve as members of the session at their local church. They represent the other members of the congregation, yet their primary responsibility is to discover and represent the will of Christ as they govern.

Elders can be elected as commissioners to the higher governing bodies: presbyteries, which are composed of all the churches within a particular geographic region; synods, which are composed of several presbyteries; and the General Assembly, which represents the entire denomination.

The Session of Second Presbyterian Church

Members are elected for three year terms

Bonnie Boram Bonnie Boram
Bill Donan Bill Donan
Will Duncan Will Duncan
Patrick Farnan Patrick Farnan
Sara Gilford Sara Gilford
Karen Hadley Karen Hadley
Melinda Mast Melinda Mast
Martha Pecceu Martha Pecceu
John Stone John Stone
Abby Davis Youth Elder Abby Davis
William Edwards Youth Elder William Edwards
Jodie Goldberg Jodie Goldberg
Judy Hettmansperger Judy Hettmansperger
Henry Kelsey Henry Kelsey
Sean Lohman Sean Lohman
Mark Shiflet Mark Shiflet
Beverly Will Beverly Will
Ensley Ogden Youth Elder Ensley Ogden
Nicholas Moloney Youth Elder Nicholas Moloney
Ricky Case Ricky Case
Ellie Davis Ellie Davis
Maggie Faurest Maggie Faurest
Amanda McNally Amanda McNally
Kathy Oyler Kathy Oyler
James Seiler James Seiler
Chip Snyder Chip Snyder
Davis Collins Youth Elder Davis Collins
Charlotte McCarthy Youth Elder Charlotte McCarthy